As a driver, do dispatchers holding you back bother you?

If you are trying to get off virtual work early and are running 15 minutes ahead of schedule, does it anger you if a dispatcher puts you on a sidetrack to get you back on time? Has it happened to you? As a dispatcher, do you do this and how well/not so well has it gone?

Edited by SpeedyRetreat

I only hold them till scheduled departure time if they have a stop or a layover at the station, otherwise I'll just give green. I haven't had any complaints but I haven't done that much dispatching either but if someone asks for an exit and if they're not going to affect any other priority train, I don't mind giving them an early departure. As a driver, I won't mind being held until my scheduled departure as it would be realistic, but it has never happened to me as I always drove on EN1 server and whenever I selected a train, it's already running late. Every single time!!!!! 😂

Passenger trains should never depart from a station stop early. 

Freight on the other hand can, as long as it wont delay a following passenger service, and you ask the next signaller if they can accept an early freight. As a freight train driver, it's a given that the train will be 'put inside' for a following faster train or three.

Edited by giBBer8
Spellinz
  • I agree 2

Usually I let them pass, with one big exception: when I'm dispatching Zawiercie. There is so much traffic and so much to do that I don't really have time to think about an early freight. I usually ask if it's ok to wait. I prefer to wait when I'm driving those freights, I can take a toilet break.

The other bigger issue is that entry in Zawiercie from Lazy La Line 1 is so short, you get very little notice before the next passenger comes. I usually keep the freight on the side lines near Line 4 entry from Lazy La, so as not to block Platform 1.