Speed limits and other location-based constraints?

GlideBrick

Trains complete noob here.

The game gives you an overlay of what is your speed (which I can also see in the trains dashboards) and a speed limit. How am I supposed to know the speed limit at a given place without such overlay? I mean, in flight simulation you can check charts so you can fully simulate real airport procedures where you see speed and altitude limits nearby airports. How is it done with trains or is it done at all?

Thank you!

Basically, in-game you have two kinds of max speeds:

• line (incl. permanent/temporary restrictions)
  • signals

In (very) short, you are supposed to have a timetable showing the max permissible speed in each section, like this:image.thumb.png.33dbced89e2c2cb2365f492862b845f4.png

My understanding is that in Poland max speed allowed on the mainline isn't shown on the ground, unless it's lower than the previous limit; that's why a timetable would be mandatory to drive without HUD, but atm it's not implemented.

Permanent/temp. restrictions are always signalled by a specific set of signals and should be also included in a specific document (WOS I think it's called), but basically you could be fine by observing them as they come, though they're not always easy to spot

Speed limits can be given by signals with certain combinations, i.e. for running on diverging junctions and they're basically observed from signal to signal or from signal to the mainline, check this site if you want more informations: http://jareks.zonk.pl/signal/index.html

Edited by stronzio
  • Like 1
  • I agree 1

Well, no, in reality, you have to learn every aspect of the route your depot operates on. Grades, shunting manoeuvres, signals, braking points for stations, places where you may snap a freight train into 5 pieces etc.

I'm talking UK at least, and it will be even more important in the US, South Africa and Australian Pilbara ops.